Change…an every day constant


Hello fellow bloggers…last week I heard the radio host talking about change. He said ” the only thing that is consistent  in our lives is change.”  I know I am a creature of habit, and unlike in my younger days, do NOT handle change very well. But then I thought about it, while I do have a habit of putting on my shoes a particular way, I have often found myself putting on the right foot before the left on many occasions.

I remember in my younger days, when I first joined my local ambulance corp, there was a big controversy in bringing the corp in up to date equipment, personnel, uniforms etc. While the young members were all for the change, the older generation were not. Today I see the “younger” generation joining and talking about changing things and I, as the “older” generation feel that change is not needed. Yet, on the other hand, it will eventually have to happen.

Now I look back at all the changes in my life and say some were for the best, and some weren’t. But I at least learned from those that weren’t.

So where am I going with all of this you ask?

At 17, I was trained at my first job as a cashier/office clerk, a job I held for 21 years. At the age of 38, I changed my line of work to NYSEMT, which meant I had to study and get to know this line of work. It was a bit scary to change at first, but I adapted fairly well. Now at the age of 52, I am once again changing my line of work, and once again, learning how to run a business and be a professional photographer. This change is not as easy, but I am determined to make it work.

So, here I am, changing to better myself in a world that changes constantly. Will I manage it? Yes. Will I give up? NO!

I leave you with some great words of wisdom : 20 years from now you will be disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the one’s you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain

One thought on “Change…an every day constant

  1. I am the type that really doesn’t like change, but I am learning to change that thought process! Change is NEVER easy. I am trying to be open to change. I have found that my resistance sometimes is due to fear of the unknown.

    Great topic Liz!

Leave a Reply

